PM chairs Digital Economy and Fourth Industrial Revolution Council meeting

PM chairs Digital Economy and Fourth Industrial Revolution Council meeting

By New Straits Times – November 10, 2020 @ 8:22pm

KUALA LUMPUR: The government has set up the Digital Economy and Fourth Industrial Revolution (4IR) Council to improve the country’s capability in optimising 4IR technological advancements and ensure growth of the digital economy, in line with the Shared Prosperity Vision 2030 and Sustainable Development Agenda 2030.

The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), in a statement, said the council is the highest administrative body in establishing policies, implementation and monitoring of the nation’s strategies and initiatives for the digital economy and 4IR.

The council’s establishment is in line with the government’s ambitions of ensuring that the digital economy in Malaysia is inclusive by harnessing the full potential of 4IR technology.

“The Covid-19 pandemic has compelled the government to accelerate the development of 4IR technology and the implementation of digital technology.

“As such, the country requires a clear policy, collective efforts and actions as well as a whole-of-nation approach,” read the statement.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin earlier today chaired the council’s first meeting via a video conference, which was attended by several cabinet ministers.

In the meeting, the prime minister said digitalisation has become a new norm which needs to be mainstreamed at all levels including within the government and private sectors as well as the public.

The PMO said that as such, planning as well as streamlining and monitoring and policies at the national level is key and must be given attention.

“The Digital Economy and 4IR Council will assume the role of all digital and technology-related committees chaired previously by the prime minister.

“In addition, all committee members as well as digital and technology teams chaired by ministers, senior ministry officers and agencies will be streamlined or merged under the six newly-established clusters.”

Apart from cabinet ministers, the council also comprises representatives from the private sector, industries and academicians who will spearhead efforts to continue the nation’s development amid global developments, focusing on intensive digitalisation cutting across all aspects of economy and life.

One of the six clusters, on economy, will be chaired by Senior Minister (International Trade and Industry) Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali.

Digital talent will be chaired by Human Resources Minister Datuk Seri M Saravanan; while the community (cluster) will be chaired by Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Seri Rina Mohd Harun

Data and digital infrastructure, meanwhile, will be chaired by Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah; new technology (cluster) will be headed by Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, while the government cluster will be led by Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Zuki Ali.

Meanwhile, a steering committee chaired by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed has also been set up to drive collaboration between ministries, agencies and the private sector to realise the digital economy and 4IR agenda.

“All chief secretaries and directors-general involved in the six clusters have been appointed as steering committee members representing the chairs of the respective clusters,” read the statement.